More songs for your first dance: Now with more ‘Bens’!

3 Jul

I quite liked writing my recent post on alternatives to traditional first dance songs for your wedding.  I was staying with my parents for the weekend, so aside from my mom being confused as to why I was tearing up at my computer early on a Saturday morning (damn you Conor Oberst), it was a fun and easy post to write.  Seconds after I posted, I started to think of loads of awesome wedding songs that I had left off, and I got annoyed with myself, and had to go back into the post and add “more to come” so that I could carry on with my day.   That said, here are my next 3 songs, in no particular order.

  • Such Great Heights, The Postal Service – I’m a little bit partial to this one as it is kind of our song, ever since I put it on the first mix tape I made for Bob when we started dating (look it up kids: cassette tape).  At the very last minute it didn’t end up being our first dance song when we were married.  Both Roberto and I are hands-down-amazing dancers, but it’s a high tempo song with a long intro and it’s a little bit difficult to dance to and unfortunately we didn’t have time to work it out.  However if you practice and pull it off, it’s an awesome, upbeat song that will definitely fill up the dance floor half way through!
Roberto Farren Photography

Lorrie and John steal a quiet moment during their recent Boston wedding.

  • Forever, Ben Harper – A really slow, quiet song – Just Ben and his guitar.  But the lyrics are lovely, and if you’re not award winning ballroom dancers, it’s definitely the kind of song you can just sort of sway to together.
Roberto Farren Photography

Colleen and Emmet’s recent Boston engagement photography session.

  • The Luckiest, Ben Folds – If you’ve got the kind of story where, like me, meeting your spouse was 98% down to happy chance, then this might be your song.  It’s super sweet, and it’s one of those songs where the lyrics manage to say exactly what you want to say.

Again, definitely more on this to come…

But for now, thanks for reading!

Erin

Roberto Farren Photography

One Response to “More songs for your first dance: Now with more ‘Bens’!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding Music – More First Dance Songs | Assisting Bob - August 13, 2013

    […] celebration, makes people slow down, and more often than not, tear up. Here are a few more of my ever-growing list of top first dance […]

Leave a Reply

